A Poem to my Boys

I’m sorry my dearest

ones, that I could

 

not make this world better

for you.  You have to understand

 

as soon as any dance is learned the music

tugs to a different tide sometimes.  There are

 

not enough laments written to show you

how sorry I am that I am just one.  I sacrificed

parts of my soul, so maybe you could have it

 

better than I.  You did have it better than I,

and I would do it all again, every detail you are better

 

off not knowing, was worth

the good men who I made.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

