American Refugee as of 12:37am 1/21/17

I just couldn’t look.  I couldn’t watch

someone repulsive to every

fiber of me, even the sound of his voice

 

makes me cringe and my lip

quiver.  The rest of me is frozen

with paralysis, while my fingers

 

blindly caress the home row.  Only small

movements are manageable. Eyes squeezed

tight shut in hopes my mind could be bigly tricked

 

into believing it’s all just a poem I need to write. Even shaking

and tearful, my hands no longer grow from my face

because they have been possessed with a single word: NO.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

