To Honor and Cherish

I can’t remember the last time I felt
truly loved by you. It seems I am no more
than a burden that has to be ignored. Pushed into
isolation because of your need for isolation.
My body has been mutilated, desexed,
deserted making this animal I’m tied to desolate,
desperate to find something that makes it feel
alive. It’s so lonely being here in need. No
understanding comfort of embrace. When you look
at me with that steely indifferent stare, I die
a little more each time. Reaching out
is futile. It simply demonstrates I am never more
dead in this world than with you.

1 Comment

  1. Wow…this is one very powerful poem.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

