The Battle of Lake Michigan

I was choked by a punk-rock Polish man
in the middle of Lake Michigan. The Coast Guard

had just threatened to arrest me for swimming
in the water in my underwear. He and his wife

owned a sailboat. They were barbequing burgers
and none of them were cooking. He was drunk and violent

and unable to hear reason. Fingers wrapped thumb to finger
around my neck, and I said, You dumb motherfucker

take your hands off of my neck, and try to focus
your eyes on the grate my hand is resting on. Nothing

cooks without the fire. Put some fucking coals on the grill.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

